JHKK - Portal Rasmi



The higher education system is set up to ensure that public universities or university awam (UAs) are able to build a reputation with dynamic and competitive capabilities as well as being able to predict future challenges and be ready to act effectively in line with the development taking place globally. Efforts to improve the capabilities of UAs will continuously be made so that these universities can function and perform their responsibilities more efficiently, transparently and effectively towards creating an excellent higher education system.

In line with these goals, UAs in Malaysia are categorized into three (3) groups, namely, research universities, focused universities (technical, education, management and defence) and comprehensive universities. To date, there are 20 UAs in the country comprising five (5) research universities, four (4) comprehensive universities and 11 focused universities.

The research universities focus on research, while the focused universities concentrate on specific fields related to their respective establishment. Meanwhile, the comprehensive universities offer various courses and fields of study.

Categories Features

  Research Universities

  1. Universiti Malaya (UM)
  2. Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
  3. Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
  4. Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
  5. Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)

- Fields of study that are research-focused

- Competitive admissions

- Quality lecturers

- 50:50 undergraduates to postgraduates ratio

    Comprehensive Universities

  1. Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
  2. Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia (UIA)
  3. Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS)
  4. Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)

- Various fields of study

- Competitive admissions

- Quality lecturers

- 70:30 undergraduates to postgraduates ratio

    Focused Universities

  1. Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)
  2. Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI)
  3. Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
  4. Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM)
  5. Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)
  6. Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)
  7. Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
  8. Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM)
  9. Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA)
  10. Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK)
  11. Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia (UPNM)

- Competitive admissions into research-focused fields of study

- Quality lecturers

- 50:50 undergraduates to postgraduates ratio


Source : https://www.mohe.gov.my/institusi/universiti-awam/kategori-ua